Oktoberfest, September 2008

A weekend of Absinthe and beer

There’s really little more to say- this is the beerfest to end all beerfests. For two weeks in Munich in late September, the city swells with visitors from everywhere who quaff expensive, stronger than normal 1 L denominations of beer. I’m one of them.

I arrived on Friday night, the day before the keg was tapped, to catch the premiere of the new Absinthe snowboarding flick, Ready, but aside from seeing plenty of kids there primarily to get trashed, it was a mellow, though late evening for me. I did get to meet a number of the cast and crew, which included some of my favorite pro riders. It’s also clearly not as much fun going on your own.

some of the cast and crew

some of the cast and crew

But now a bit about the main event, I went twice, actually, the day of the opening, and then for much of Sunday afternoon. Didn’t get a seat inside, so I stood outside on a chilly, overcast September day and had my high quality Augustiner brew.

YES!

YES!

boyzone. . .

boyzone. . .

crazy aussies

crazy aussies

the 8000 person tent. . .

the 8000 person tent. . .

And then Sunday I went with some friends and six hours later, I didn’t even recall shooting off 270 photos, was too drunk to catch my train back, and ended up staying the night before taking the 6 AM train back to the office.

img_63901

img_6391

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

