Weekend in the Arlberg

First trip here this season, after I took the plunge on the steep train fare and took the 7-hour journey to meet up with my buddy Michael in Lech. I’d love to go more often, but I just live too far away. After relaxing in the evening, and still staying up way past my bedtime (1 AM), I managed to get some sleep, never enough, though. It had been a roller-coaster week at work, and I had not been riding in three weeks. 

 

chillin' in a "chilliges Abteil"

chillin' in a "chilliges Abteil"

Here we go, this is what happens when it puked a bunch of snow during the week, and when you put an old guy with a bunch of early 20-somethings. You get a powder day on steroids, in a clockwise loop from Lech to Zuers and back. And plenty of that indecipherable Vorarlberg dialect.

 

gonna be an excellent day

gonna be an excellent day

9:30 AM, off to the races, and the first of many extended powder runs. It’s this undulating terrain with numerous gullies, cliffs of different sizes, and all sorts of natural terrain features. So off we went, taking the usual set of chairlifts and surface lifts to get to Zuers, and then gradually back to Lech. They knew the way, I just did my best to follow them around.

2 PM, time for a quick lunch with a view. And a brief check of our transceivers for safety’s sake.

 

lunch with a view

lunch with a view

4 PM,  a long-ish hike out of bounds, that hour when you start to feel the temperature falling, and when the light on the mountain starts to take a slight pinkish glow. What a view, what a day.

 

last steps, way out of bounds

last steps, way out of bounds

 

the crew

the crew

 

 

The flat spots, however, really got me. Despite pointing it, I found that I had to skate or unstrap to get going, so I probably irritated everyone. To all of them, danke fuer deine Geduld, thanks for your patience, and sorry!

I’ve been to the Arlberg several times now, but I think this trip took the cake with regards to quality. The sun came out for just one day, the temperatures still stayed below freezing, and hooking up with a bunch of locals, they knew where to go.

Now it was harder to get up early the next morning, crawl out of bed, and pull on the clothes and my still-damp, slimy boots. I had a long journey back to the flatlands of Germany after riding, and I decided on another loop of Lech / Zuers, albeit this time it was a solo mission, and abbreviated.

 

weather moving in, a 60+ cm dump is on its way

weather moving in, a 60+ cm dump is on its way

I revisited some spots from the day before, some of which had become suncrusted and choppy, but ended it on a happy solo run to the Lech tunnel. And then it was a breathless set of bus and train connections, a postbus to Langen and on to Feldkirch, a six minute connection, a standing-room only train to Lindau, another six minute connection, a delayed train to Ulm, a two minute dash to the bullet train, and a growling stomach from not eating quite enough over the past couple of days. 

A few lessons I picked up out of this:

I’m old and out of shape. My abilities are headed south, but I can still do a mean powder turn. Safety first. Still among the best days of the year so far.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

